Webinar | A Conversation Regarding Coronavirus and How it Might Affect Your Small Water System’s Finances & Management

Date/Time
Date(s) - 04/08/2020
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
iCal (add to your calendar)

Register
Fill out form below to register for this event.

Categories

Wednesday, April 8, 2020
12:00pm- 1:00pm EST
(9am-10am PST, 10am-11am MST, 11am-12pm CST)

View Presentation Slides

Description: 
Coronavirus has upended all of our lives in a very short period of time, but water utilities are affected in very specific ways. During this “Office Hours” style webinar, you will have an opportunity to voice your questions and concerns to two industry experts. Water personnel must keep working as the continuous provision of water couldn’t be more vital.  However, as others have been laid off or lost their incomes in one way or another, the utilities will be losing revenue and many will not be performing shut offs.  What might this mean for water system finances? How will your water system handle a deficit? Many small systems have 1 or maybe only 2 people who are familiar with the system, including where assets are, how it operates, etc. What happens if personnel are not able to work due to coronavirus or something else, such as an injury? Does the utility have a good map or an Operation and Maintenance Plan to help another operator who may need to come in and help but is not familiar with the system or the location of assets? Does the utility have an asset management plan it can rely on to help with continuing service? What emergency preparations have been made to date? What communications strategies have you considered?

Please come prepared with your questions regarding the finance and management of your system. You may ask questions ahead of time through the registration process or pose them during the webinar.

Presenters:

  • Shadi Eskaf, Research Director, Environmental Finance Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Heather Himmelberger, Director, Southwest Environmental Finance Center